Although car accidents can happen no matter how responsible you are and how diligently you follow traffic laws, if you have recently sustained serious injuries in a crash, you may be entitled to file a personal injury claim against the offending driver. An Olive Branch car accident lawyer could help you file your case correctly and advocate for your rights so that you can focus on your recovery.
When you decide to work with a legal advisor, you are giving yourself the chance to claim a variety of damages from your injuries and other losses. Dedicated personal injury attorney David E. Gordon could ensure your claim gets filed free of errors that delay the process, which is essential in civil cases that may take a year or more to settle. David could also help you determine what monetary damages you could be entitled to claim.
Common Car Accident Injuries in Olive Branch
Car accident injuries are many and varied depending on factors, such as whether it involved multiple vehicles or immovable objects. Common injuries from vehicular collisions in Olive Branch include:
- Scrapes, cuts, and lacerations
- Arm and leg
- Head trauma
- Spinal cord
The types of damages an individual can claim following a car accident include ongoing medical treatment, lost wages, pain and suffering, car repairs or replacement, and disability benefits.
What are Mississippi’s Car Insurance Laws?
The state requires drivers to buy liability insurance and keep the correlating documentation in their vehicles at all times, in the event of an accident. Mississippi residents must have at least $25,000 for bodily injury coverage per person, as well as $50,000 for bodily injury per accident and $25,000 for property damages per accident. Drivers who do not have such coverage could become subject to fines. If a person gets in a car accident with another driver who does not have insurance, the plaintiff will likely need to file a civil suit instead of a claim with the defendant’s insurance company to recover damages from the crash.
What is the Statute of Limitations in Olive Branch?
According to Mississippi Code section 15-1-49, a plaintiff has up to three years from the car accident date to file a claim. The state offers this three-year statute of limitations to all personal injury cases with the exception of medical malpractice which has a two-year statute.
Since Mississippi functions as a pure comparative negligence state, a plaintiff could claim damages even if they may be partially responsible for the accident. However, the amount of compensation may be reduced depending on the percentage of blame assigned to them. A plaintiff that is 20 percent responsible for a car accident, for example, would be liable for correlating amounts, such as $2,000 in a $10,000 case, receiving $8,000 in damages total. An Olive branch legal representative could help a plaintiff determine the amount of compensation they deserve and fight to minimize fault as much as possible.
Speak with an Olive Branch Car Collision Attorney Today
Not all car accident injuries manifest right away. Some, such as whiplash, take up to 48 hours to display symptoms. If you were injured in a car accident that was not your fault, do not hesitate to speak with David E. Gordon, even if injury symptoms have not appeared yet. Your Olive Branch car accident lawyer could help you determine if you have a claim and provide the legal counsel necessary to expedite the process.
To move forward with the claims process, contact a knowledgeable attorney near you to discuss the details of your case. David can provide you some peace of mind while you recover.